Our principles

As a network, SAFIN is designed to be partner-led in all its activities, and to have a flexible agenda that responds to emerging priorities and opportunities. Partners engage with each other based on the following principles: 

  • Equality 

  • Inclusiveness 

  • Active listening and respect 

  • Proactive sharing of knowledge and information 

  • Mutual accountability

  • Leveraging and adding value to existing initiatives

  • Commitment to making a tangible difference towards the SAFIN vision.

Partners are led by a Steering Committee that represents the diversity of actors involved in the network and the broader ecosystem. The Committee provides overall direction, monitors progress, and advises and supports the Secretariat on resource mobilization. 

A Secretariat housed at IFAD plays a convening, facilitating, and championing role for the network and for the Steering Committee. 

Governance 1.png
Our Steering Committee 
Amanda Fernandez

Director, Natural Resource Finance Facilities


Claude Torre

Project Manager for Agriculture and Rural Development

Agence Française de Développement 

Arindom Datta

Executive Director- Rural & Development Banking and Advisory

Rabobank India

Esther AFA.jpg
Esther Penunia

Secretary General

Asian Farmers Association

Ayodeji Balogun

Chief Executive Officer

AFEX Commodities Exchange

Norbert T_edited.jpg
Norbert Tuyishime

Programme Officer

East African Farmers Federation

Our Secretariat
F Rubio.jfif
Frank Rubio 

Senior Coordinator,


Chiara Satta

 Administrative Assistant 

Emily Kitonog_edited.jpg
Emily Kitongo

Knowledge Management Analyst

Michael von During

Technical Specialist

Our donors

Our work is possible thanks to the generous support of our donors.